Skip to content

Head Case

September 19, 2013

Not sure if I mentioned this on here or not and am too lazy to really look, but a few weeks ago I got a concussion. It factored into dropping from the full to the half for the fact that for about a week I couldn’t run due to the head injury. Well, I guess I pushed it too much by working too long of hours last week, not resting enough and trying to run the little bit that I have cause I was at the doctors two days ago. They told me to take some serious brain rest.

I knew during and after the 1/2 on Saturday I pushed it too much. Not necessarily the pace but I could just tell that I wasn’t ‘fine’. I got dizzy while running and then afterwards that day and the next couple of days I was off. Dizzy, confused and just all around not in a right state. Hence, going to the doctors on Tuesday.

Since Tuesday I had to take the rest of the week off from work, cannot run for about a week, and literally just have to stay in bed and not do anything. Writing this post is probably considered over-exerting my brain. oops.

It is really hard to do nothing. It sounds great in theory but when you are doing it, it is, well, boring. No TV, cannot read, cannot write/type, nothing. I downloaded an audio book and just cannot get into it. I am not an audible learner. I need to read and touch and do to learn and understand. I feel like I am hearing the book but couldn’t tell you really what it is about or what is going on. Really hoping that today is my last day of complete brain rest and hoping that i can incorporate more activities tomorrow. Like maybe watch something on the tv. I am not holding my breath though. Alan heard everything that the doctor said and he is really holding me to the doctors orders. I guess that is a good sign of a loving husband but right now it is such a pain!

Please pray for my sanity these next few days!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 22, 2013 7:42 am

    Rest is the MOST IMPORTANT thing right now. Hope you get cleared for activity soon!

Leave a comment